Week 7: Tessellation & Stencil

Within this week, we learnt about Tessellation and Stencil, basically Mr.Aaron recommended us to use stencil method for our coming tessellation exercise. At first, let me explain what is Tessellation.

 

A Tessellation is the tiling of a plane using one or more geometric shapes, called tiles, with no overlaps and no gaps. In mathematics, tessellations can be generalized to higher dimensions.

I did some research for tessellation.

IMG_7637

IMG_7971

 

 

Before we started to do our tessellation exercise, Mr.Aron actually taught us how to do stencil. Below is the process of how we stencil our first letter from our name on a blank paper.

IMG_7636

 

 

IMG_7642

 

All the tools and materials we were using.

 

IMG_7640

 

The first letter from my name: Catherine, which is “C”.

 

IMG_7641

 

IMG_7639

 

 

End of the stencil practice, each of us been told to think of our own theme for the tessellation exercise. My theme for the tessellation is: Women’s precious is Fashion.

Below is the process on how I make my tessellation.

IMG_7972

 

IMG_7791

 

I decided to use a Triangle to form my tessellation.

IMG_7973

IMG_7959

 

IMG_7832

 

After I showed the flower tessellation to Mr.Aaron, he stated that flower is not a stronger meaning for “Precious”, so I decided to add on a diamond on each of the flower.

IMG_7960

 

IMG_7961

 

 

After all, this is my final artwork.

IMG_7975

 

 

Unfortunately, during our presentation, Mr.Aaron stated that he’s not satisfied with my artwork. Even though the whole artwork has the meaning of “Women’s precious is Fashion”, but the flower doesn’t really looks like a flower, it looks kind of weird.

 

I decided to redo the whole thing.

Following is the process of my redo artwork.

 

IMG_8029

 

IMG_8028

 

this time I decided to use hexagon for tessellation as the shape is more easy to form a flower.

 

IMG_8031

 

IMG_8032

 

IMG_8031

 

 

After few hours, this is my second tessellation artwork.

IMG_8586

 

 

I’ve shown Mr.Aaron my redo tessellation artwork and luckily he was satisfied with my second artwork 🙂

Leave a comment